Sustainable building design and construction

SKF adopts world leading sustainable design and construction standard for new buildings

Delivering value to our customers in the most effective and efficient ways possible is fundamental to us. As SKF is expanding to meet the constantly evolving needs of our diverse global customer base, we are constructing new manufacturing and warehouse facilities in different regions.

Irrespective of the location, we have made the commitment that all new facilities must be designed and constructed to world-class standards in terms of environmental performance; and we do so by adopting the US Green Building Council’s (USGBC®) ‘Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design’ (LEED) standard for all our major constructions.

Certified facilities

About LEED (Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design)
LEED is the most globally recognized standard for sustainable building construction, for its holistic approach to building sustainability – covering environmental aspects from design to construction and commissioning. Having this as a consistent SKF standard will assure minimized environmental impact and operating costs due to reduced energy and other utility requirements.

The LEED standard is a ‘points based’ system, with some mandatory categories, and others where it is possible to gain points by applying a specific environmental technology or solution. A certain number of points are required to achieve basic certification. However silver, gold and the highest level, platinum, are also possible if sufficient points are verified by the USGBC.

SKF Sustainable Factory Rating (SFR)

Because LEED is a generic standard, inevitably it does not cover all the environmental issues specifically related to typical SKF manufacturing processes. As the financial, environmental, social impacts of these processes can be significant, the company is developing an SKF specific category – referred to as the ‘Sustainable Factory Rating’ (SFR) which will follow the format and general approach outlined in LEED, but addresses specific SKF process related aspects. The criteria are grouped in 11 categories:
  • Health and Safety
  • Process Media and Process Pump Systems
  • Compressed Air Systems
  • Process Cooling / Heating
  • Metering, Monitoring and Targeting Capability
  • Pollution Control
  • Process Waste Management
  • Manufacturing Equipment
  • Water
  • Heat Treatment
  • Commissioning Phase

All major constructions to be undertaken by or for the Group are required to apply SFR in conjunction with LEED.

SKF logo